Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cal Poly Cross Country Opens 2017 Season with Sweep at UCSB

Cal Poly Cross Country Opens 2017 Season with Sweep at UCSB

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. — Paced by performances from the men's individual champion, Swarnjit Boyal, and the women's runner-up, Miranda Daschian, the Cal Poly cross country program began its 2017 season Saturday with a Blue-Green Rivalry sweep of UC Santa Barbara at the annual Lagoon Open.

Starting with the women's 5k (beginning behind the UCen student union), Cal Poly topped the Gauchos 22-37, before the men followed with a 17-44 win in the 8k.
UCSB senior Jenna Hinkle won on her home terrain with a time of 17:41.74, ahead of Daschian (last fall's CCCAA state champion at Cuesta College) in 17:58.92 for her Mustang debut.
Julia Vasquez was next for Cal Poly, finishing third at 18:08.35. Meanwhile freshman Sierra Brill (fourth in her first collegiate meet, at 18:15.26), along with juniors Maddie McDonald (sixth, 18:37.12) and Hannah Hull (seventh, 18:37.90), completed the scoring for the Mustangs.
Five more true freshmen occupied Cal Poly's next five spots: Brigette Takeuchi (ninth, 18:47.75); Angela DiPentino (10th, 18:50.29); Annie Meeder (12th, 18:55.14); Kelsey Takeuchi (13th, 18:55.34); and Abbey Fisk (14th, 18:55.91).
Also representing Cal Poly — ranked 11th in the West Region in the USTFCCCA Preseason Poll (Aug. 28) — were Bryanna Fuller (19:00.38), Delaney Fitzsimmons (19:16.31), Melodie Leroudier (19:19.94), Megan Melnyk (19:49.70), Ashley Heys (19:54.93), Rachel Bordes (19:56.13), Ashley Davis (20:28.56) and Michaela Barros (21:22.53).

Sapna Dholakia also posted a time of 20:32.99 while running unattached.
In the ensuing men's event, Boyal — the runner-up at the 2016 Big West Conference Championships — won in 25:06.00.
Teammates followed him in the next two spots, as the 2016 Big West Freshman of the Year, Justin Robison, came in second at 25:21.80, while another leader from last season's conference championship squad, senior Alex Heuchert, took third at 25:25.70.
Garrett Migliozzi (sixth in 25:54.60) and Alex Merder (12th, 26:09.20) accounted for the remainder of Cal Poly's scoring.
Devon Grove (26:14.10), Robert Franklin (26:15.20), Peter Cotsirilos (26:17.10), Zachary Wims (26:23.10), Sean McDermott (26:25.30), Evan Jameson (26:27.70) and Logan Marshall (27:43.90) also raced for Cal Poly, ranked No. 8 regionally in the preseason.
Five first-year Mustangs competed unattached (retaining the potential to redshirt) at the dual: Jake Ritter (25:27.20), Ethan Comeaux (25:58.70), Ethan Duffy (26:26.70), Caleb Llorin (26:46.20) and Cameron Botten (27:27.90).
More Mustangs will return to the course as the early season progresses, continuing with the Fresno State Invitational at Woodward Park on Sept. 9.