Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cal Poly Sweeps 2013 Big West Cross Country Championships

Cal Poly Sweeps 2013 Big West Cross Country Championships


SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. – For the second year in a row and the third time overall, Cal Poly men's and women's cross country teams swept the Big West Conference Cross Country Championships on Saturday at the Fairbanks Memorial Cross Country Course in San Luis Obispo. For the men's team it was their 13th overall and third straight championship. For the women it was their fourth overall and second straight championship.

The men's team placed its five scoring runners in the top 14 and outdistanced second place, UC Santa Barbara, 32-49, and third place UC Davis (54 pts.) It was the first time since 2006 that the Mustangs hosted the championships.

Senior Chris Frias defended his individual title from last year when he finished first and covered the 8k course in 25:19 while teammate, junior Mitch Moriarty, was second with a time of 25:22. Senior Sean Davidson, running under the weather, came home four with a time of 25:31.

The three Cal Poly runners paced the Mustangs as UC Davis and UC Santa Barbara had three runners finish in the top 10, but solid runs by sophomore Tyler Huntley and freshman Dimitri Voytilla put Cal Poly over the top. Huntley was 11th with a time of 26:17 while Voytilla was 14th with a time of 26:26.2. Voytilla edged a UCSB runner (26:26.7) and a pair of UC Davis runners (26:26.7, 26:30.8).

Freshman Clayton Hutchins finished 18th with a time of 26:33. Other Mustangs competing in the championship included freshman Riess Haslam in 30th (27:09), Kyle Lynch in 33rd (27:14) and freshman Nick Woolf in 34th (27:20).

The men's team won championships in 1998, 1999, 2000, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2012.

On the women's side, sophomore Laura Hollander repeated as individual champion in leading the women's team to a 37-44 win over second place UC Davis. UC Santa Barbara was third with 62 points.

Hollander, running in her first 6k race of the season and her first race since Aug. 31, covered the course in 20:43. She outdistanced second place by more than a minute (21:49).

Senior Diana George was sixth (22:03) with two runners separating George and a pack of Mustangs that filled six of the next seven spots. Sophomore Rachel Bush was ninth (17:22) with freshman Ashley Windsor 10th (22:22) and sophomore Sara Van Dyke 11th (22:26). Senior Erika Schaeffer finished 13th (22:36) and was followed by freshman Mary Jo Wright in 14th (22:47) and sophomore Ashley Bergstrom in 15th (22:54).

Cal Poly also won championships in 2000, 2001 and 2012.