Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Laura Hollander Wins Loaded Wisconsin Adidas Invitational

Laura Hollander Wins Loaded Wisconsin Adidas Invitational

Women's Complete Results

Men's Complete Results

MADISON, WI – True Freshman Laura Hollander won the Wisconsin Adidas Invitational on Friday, covering the 6 kilometer course in a record setting 19:33. The freshman led the Mustangs to a 32nd place finish while the men's team placed 30th led by senior David Cardona's 68th place finish.

The race was held at the Thomas Zimmer Cross Country Course and hosted by the University of Wisconsin.

Hollander and the Mustangs competed against a 48 team field that that included 28 ranked teams or receiving votes. The team's 32nd place finish placed them ahead of 23rd-ranked Indiana (35th) and a head of Virginia (40th) and Dartmouth (44th) who were receiving votes.  The Mustangs entered the race unranked nationally and ranked 13th in the West Region.

Hollander edged out Iowa State senior Betsy Saina (19:35) by two seconds at the line. Weber State's Amber Henry finished third with a time of 19:43.

Hollander's course record time broke Michigan State's Emily MacLeod time of 19:53 set in 2010.

Senior Vanessa Hancock was the second Mustang to cross the line with a time of 20:46 and in 89th place. Sophomore Meghan Breadmore was 177th with a time of 21:14 followed by fellow sophomore Savannah Pio with a time of 21:35 in 231st place. Freshman Rachel Bush rounded out the scoring Mustangs in 257th place and a time of 21:48.

Non-scoring Mustangs included senior Alex Ciaraglia in 271st (21:55) and sophomore Hanna Edwards in 315th (23:01).

Iowa State won the race with 109 points followed by Stanford (181), Arizona (242) and Washington (252).

On the men's side, Cardona  led the Mustangs to a 30th place finish in the 45 team field. Cal Poly finished ahead of Missouri , ranked 30th, and Dartmouth who was receiving votes. 24 of the 45 teams entered Saturday's race nationally ranked or receiving votes.

Cardona coved the 8 kilometer course in a time of 24:07 with junior Chris Frias coming across the line in 83rd and a time of 24:13. Junior Sean Davidson was the third Mustang to cross the line in 110th and a time of 24:20. Sophomore Mitchell Moriarty and senior Michael Johnson finished 190th and 222nd respectively with times of 24:40 and 24:54.

Junior Blake Ahrold was 234th with a time of 25:01 while senior Derek Thomas failed to complete the race.  

Arizona individuals finished one-two with  Lawi Lalang winning the race in 23:03 with teammate Stephen Sambu posting a time of 23:07.

Stanford won the team title with 135 points followed by Iona (145), Oklahoma (166) and Texas (267).