Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cal Poly to Host Firestone Grill College Golf Championship

Cal Poly to Host Firestone Grill College Golf Championship

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. -- A total of 12 men's teams and seven women's squads will compete in the fourth annual Firestone Grill Cal Poly Invitational on Sunday and Monday at the Monarch Dunes Golf Club in Nipomo.

Cal Poly's "B" team won the men's team title a year ago while the Mustang women finished fifth. Cal State Northridge claimed the women's team title in 2010.

Both individual champions -- Mario Clemens of UCLA and Kylie Kimura of Cal State Northridge -- return to defend their titles.

In addition to Cal Poly (which will field two squads), other men's teams in the field this year are Cal State Fullerton, La Verne, Seattle, Utah Valley, Cal State Northridge, Cal Lutheran, UC Riverside, Cal State Bakersfield, Long Beach State and UCLA's "B" team.

The women's field includes the Mustangs, Cal State Fullerton, Cal Lutheran, Seattle, Cal State Northridge, Santa Clara and UC Riverside.

The Cal Poly men's "A" team includes Bryce Greeley, Scott Patterson, Grant Martens, Justin Haley and Chris Satterwhite. Competing on the "B" team will be Matt Yount, Derick Strain, Trevor Guthrie, Buddy Senatore and Johnny Castles.

Representing the Mustang women's team are Asia Adell, Caitlin Farley(pictured above), Morgan Thomas, Kirsten Locke and Alex Phillips. Competing as individuals will be Laura Howard, Giovanna Ascolani and Sorelle Sedej.

Teams will tee off with a shotgun start at 8:30 a.m. Sunday, with the second round to follow. Final round is scheduled for Monday with split tee times starting at 7:30 a.m. The course measures 6,810 yards for men and 5,902 yards for women. Both are par 71.