Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Mustangs Open Big West Conference Championships With Multi-Events

Mustangs Open Big West Conference Championships With Multi-Events

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. — The 2018 Big West Conference Track & Field Championships start this week with the Multi-Events, as CSUN hosts the decathlon and heptathlon Friday and Saturday.

Cal Poly will send senior Jacob Rickman, sophomore Bailey Thayer and freshman Jason Lewis to compete in the decathlon, while sophomore Caice Lanovaz and junior Keana Viss are entered in the heptathlon.

The schedule for Matador Track & Field Complex is as follows:

Fri., May 4 — 12 noon start • 100-meter dash / Long Jump / Shot Put / High Jump / 400 Meters
Sat., May 5 — 12 noon start • 110m Hurdles / Discus / Pole Vault / Javelin / 1,500m

Fri., May 4 — 12:30 p.m. start • 100m Hurdles / High Jump / Shot Put / 200
Sat., May 5 — 12:30 p.m. start • Long Jump / Javelin / 800m

Live scoring can be followed through Finished Results.

Rickman came in fifth place at the Big West finals a year ago, compiling a score of 6,655 (ranking No. 9 in school history) to provide 4 team points toward the Mustangs' second-place finish in the standings. He also tallied 6,653 points in 2016.

Rickman has competed in 23 separate events this season, including setting three new career-best performances: for the 1,500m (4:59.15 at the Sam Adams Combined Events Invitational on April 7), long jump (21' 4.75" at UCLA's Johnson/Joyner-Kersee Invitational on April 14) and discus (145' 3" on March 31 at the Titan Challenge in Fullerton).

While this is Thayer's first Big West Championship decathlon, he competed in two events at last year's conference meet (the high jump, in which he leads the squad this season with a height of 6' 6.75", and the 110m hurdles, which he ran in 15.11 seconds at the Cal Poly ShareSLO Invite on March 24).

Thayer, whose high jump PR of almost 6' 7" ranks tied for No. 6 throughout the entire conference, has also tallied partial decathlons of 5,672 and 5,344 at the 2018 & 2017 Sam Adams Multis.

Lewis, a three-event qualifier for the Colorado State High School Championships last spring, has continued his versatility in his first year in San Luis Obispo, owning top-25 rankings throughout the conference for the 400m hurdles (1:01.53), high jump (5' 11") and pole vault (13' 9.25") as a true freshman.

Lanovaz moved to No. 5 in program history at the Sam Adams Invitational this year with 5,011 points at Westmont (good for the Big West's No. 3 regular-season ranking). A USATF Juniors and IAAF World Youth heptathlon qualifier, she scored 3 team points for the Mustangs thanks to a sixth-place finish at the conference championships as a freshman, when she aggregated 4,763 points.

Having competed in a team-high 32 different events during 2018, her season has included PRs in almost every category. In January, Lanovaz also scored 3,461 (indoor) pentathlon points at the UW Invitational in Seattle. At 19' 4" from this past weekend's dual meet at UC Santa Barbara, she ranks seventh in the Big West for the long jump.

This will be Viss' third Big West Championship heptathlon, after scoring 4,221 as a redshirt freshman and upping her total to 4,351 in 2017. She also established a new PR at this year's Sam Adams meet, compiling 4,534 points (fourth in the Big West this spring).

Viss has earned career-bests this season in the 800 (2:21.17), high jump (5' 2.25") and long jump (16' 11"), while she also holds a Big West Championship-qualifying standard in the 400m hurdles (1:04.93).

Among decathletes, UC Davis junior Thomas Grossman led the conference during the regular season with a 6,986-point weekend at the Bryan Clay Invitational at Azusa Pacific in April. UCSB junior heptathlete Hope Bender also tallied her conference-leading total (5,725, No. 10 in the NCAA) at Bryan Clay.

Single-day tickets are $15 ($12 for youth, seniors and students), with two-day Championship Weekend tickets for $25.

CSUN last hosted the championships in 2013. The finals will return to Northridge May 11-12, with the latter day televised by FOX Sports Prime Ticket.