Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

21 Mustangs Earn MPSF Swimming & Diving All-Academic Selections

21 Mustangs Earn MPSF Swimming & Diving All-Academic Selections

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. — The Cal Poly swimming and diving team had 21 athletes who were named to the 2018 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Swimming & Diving All-Academic Selections it was announced Friday.

To earn the honor, students must have a 3.00 cumulative GPA, be at least a sophomore, the student must have competed one full academic year at the institution prior to the season for which the award was received and they had to have competed in at least 50 percent of the team's competitions.

The male athletes who earned the honor are: Nic Clark (Landscape Architecture), Zachary Cootes (Mechanical Engineering), Dominic Dalpiaz (Wine & Viticulture), Tom Linker (Physics), Morgan Moore (Forestry and Natural Resources), Nolan Newland (Industrial Technology), Brandon Nguyen (Industrial Technology and Packaging), Pearu Pold (Business Administration), Stefan Young (Civil Engineering).

The female athletes who earned the honor are: Caitlin Cox (Graphic Communication), Bonnie Diamond (Kinesiology), Alison Epple (Journalism), Amelia Feick (Environmental Engineering), Elise Goetzl (Journalism), Emily Imfeld (Civil Engineering), Makenzie Kamei (Mechanical Engineering), Noelle Kipp (Biological Sciences), Emily Peters (Recreation, Parks, and Tourism Management), Elizabeth Peterson (Biomedical Engineering), Meghan Rainier (Chemistry), Sage Speak (Recreation, Parks, and Tourism Management).

Under 12th-year head coach Tom Milich, Cal Poly has now had 159 swimmers earn conference all-academic honors.