1968 440-Yard Relay Team
Sport: Track and Field
Inducted: 2005

The Mustangs' 1968 440-yard relay team of James Edmondson, Ruben Smith, Leo DeWinter and Cecil Turner won the NCAA Division II national championship with a time of 40.4 seconds, leading Cal Poly to the first of three consecutive team titles under coach Dick Purcell.

Edmondson, Turner and DeWinter each ran on two 440-yard relay teams which won NCAA Division II titles
in the late 1960s while Smith ran on three national championship 440-yard relay teams.

Smith and Turner ran on the winning 1967 foursome; all four ran on the 1968 team and all but Turner ran on the 1969 quartet.
Edmondson also earned All-American honors in the mile relay in 1968 and the 100-yard dash in 1969 and was a split end on Cal Poly's 1968 and 1969 football teams, catching the pass that beat Fresno State 21-17 in 1969.

Smith was an eight-time All-American, winning the national title in the 100 in 1969.

DeWinter also was an eight-time All-American, placing in the 100, 200 and long jump in addition to his relay performances.
Turner, who played football at Cal Poly in 1967 and 1968, won the 100, 220, long jump and anchored the winning 440 relay team, scoring enough points as an individual to win a national championship for Cal Poly in 1968.

In 1968 Turner passed up a chance to be on the Olympic track and field team in order to pursue a professional football career, drafted in the fifth round by the Chicago Bears, where he was a wide receiver and return specialist. He was All-Pro in 1970 and tied an NFL record for most touchdowns on kickoff returns in one season.

Turner, who was inducted in 1989 for his exploits on the football field, is the first Cal Poly athlete to be inducted twice into the Cal Poly Athletics Hall of Fame.

Jim Edmondson Ruben Smith Leo DeWinter Cecil Turner