Cal Poly Track and Field Earns National All-Academic Honors

Cal Poly Track and Field Earns National All-Academic Honors

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. — Five student-athletes from the Cal Poly track & field program earned spots on the 2016 U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic Team announced Thursday.

Three Mustang women, senior Kendal Nielsen along with freshmen Peyton Bilo and Katie Izzo, as well as senior Devin Bennett and junior Ted Scranton representing the men's team, made the list on an individual basis. Additionally, Cal Poly's women's squad earned the accolade in the full Scholar Teams category for a sixth consecutive season.

The five individuals garnered the prestige by having cumulative GPAs of at least 3.25 while simultaneously qualifying for the West Preliminary Round of the NCAA Championships.

Nielsen (an environmental management & protection major), who graduates after three straight selections, advanced in this past spring's postseason by winning the Big West Conference triple jump championship at 42 feet, 6.25 inches.

Bilo (a biology major also minoring in nutrition), meanwhile, went to Kansas in May with a 5,000-meter time of 16:13.55 (in addition to winning the Big West title for the 10K), while Izzo (a business major and also the conference 5K champion) moved on to regionals with a 1,500m time of 4:22.95.

In addition to qualifying for regional competition in the javelin (with a mark of 206' 3"), Bennett (a mechanical engineering major) earned all-conference status in the decathlon by tallying 7,153 points. He joins Nielsen as a three-time career recipient of the award.

Scranton (an industrial technology major), with a multi-events score of 7,038, also helped make up the nation's second-ranked group of decathletes in 2016.

Each of the five individuals ranks within the top 10 in school history for their respective events. They join the 28 conference all-academic honorees from this season.

Thursday's overall Scholar Team of the Year awards went to Tennessee's men and Arkansas' women.